Committees

Below are the committees & committee chairs for 2021-2022.

Standing Committees
Conference Committees
Award Committees
Ad Hoc Committees
Standing Committees
  • Bylaws
    Chair: Margaret Cowell (mmcowell@vt.edu)
  • Finance
    Chair: Cathy Liu (cyliu@gsu.edu)
  • International
    Chair: Arturo Flores (artfloreslop@gmail.com)
  • Membership
    Chair: Rosie Tighe (j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu)
  • Nominations
    Chair: Robert Silverman (rms35@buffalo.edu)
  • Publications
    Chair: Hélène Bélanger (belanger.helene@uqam.ca)
Conference Committees
  • Annual Meeting Program (2022)
    Chair: William Holt, Birmingham-Southern College (wholt@bsc.edu)
  • Local (Arrangements) Host (2022)
    Chair: Cara Robinson, Tennessee State University (crobin22@tnstate.edu)
  • Conference Policy (2019-2022)
    Chair: Rachael Woldoff (rachael.woldoff@mail.wvu.edu)
Award Committees
  • Activist Scholar Award
    Chair: Joan Wesley (joan.m.wesley@jsums.edu)
  • Best Annual Meeting Paper Award
    No award given for 2021-2022 due to cancellation of 2021 conference
  • Best Book Award
    Chair: Nina Martin (ninam@email.unc.edu)
  • Best JUA Paper (published article) Award
    Chair: Alex Schwartz (schwartz@newschool.edu)
  • Emerging Scholar Award
    Chair: Deirdre Oakley (doakley1@gsu.edu)
Ad Hoc Committees
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Recognitions
    Chair: Janet Smith (jsmith@uic.edu)
  • Ad Hoc Committee on UAA Honor Society
    Chair: Prentiss Dantzler (p.dantzler@utoronto.ca)
  • Ad Hoc Committee on UAA Personnel
    Co-Chair: Sabina Deitrick (sabinad@pitt.edu)
    Co-Chair: Ed Goetz (egoetz@umn.edu)
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Public Education and Advocacy
    Chair: José W. Meléndez (jmelende@uoregon.edu)
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Fundraising
    Chair: Heywood Sanders (heywood.sanders@utsa.edu)