For more than 50 years, the Urban Affairs Association (UAA) has relied on the commitment, intellect, and energy of its service leaders.  Without these contributions, UAA would not have developed into the strong and dynamic organization it is today, and the field of urban studies would lack its current breadth and richness.

In 2013, the Urban Affairs Association has created the UAA Distinguished Service Honor Roll to recognize our most impactful service leaders who have contributed outstanding service over the years to the association.

This year, the following 16 individuals were selected as 2021 inductees:

2021 Inductees

Click here for inductee biographies!

Caroline Andrew (University Of Ottawa)

Caroline Andrew
(University of Ottawa)

Edith Barrett (University Of Connecticut)

Edith Barrett
(University of Connecticut)

Victoria Basolo (University Of California Irvine)

Victoria Basolo
(University of California Irvine)

Jonathan Davies (De Montfort University)

Jonathan Davies
(De Montfort University)

James Defilippis (Rutgers University)

James DeFilippis
(Rutgers University)

Karen Gibson (Portland State University)

Karen Gibson
(Portland State University)

David Imbroscio (University Of Louisville)

David Imbroscio
(University of Louisville)

Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore (California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)

Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore
(California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)

Louise A. Jezierski (Michigan State University)

Louise A. Jezierski
(Michigan State University)

Rachel Garshick Kleit (The Ohio State University)

Rachel Garshick Kleit
(The Ohio State University)

Marla Nelson (University Of New Orleans)

Marla Nelson
(University of New Orleans)

Kathe Newman (Rutgers University)

Kathe Newman
(Rutgers University)

Claire Poitras (University Of Montreal)

Claire Poitras
(University of Montreal)

Gordana Rabrenovic (Northeastern University)

Gordana Rabrenovic
(Northeastern University)

Louise Simmons (University Of Connecticut)

Louise Simmons
(University of Connecticut)

Jocelyn Taliaferro (Nc State University)

Jocelyn Taliaferro
(NC State University)


Leslie Martin, Committee Chair (University of Mary Washington), Carolyn Adams (Temple University), Nevin Brown (Independent Consultant), Marion Orr (Brown University), and Janet Smith (University of Illinois-Chicago)

About the Urban Affairs Association

The Urban Affairs Association (UAA) is the international professional organization for urban scholars, researchers, and public/nonprofit service providers. UAA is dedicated to creating interdisciplinary spaces for engaging in intellectual and practical discussions about urban life. Through theoretical, empirical, and action-oriented research, the UAA fosters diverse activities to understand and shape a more just and equitable urban world. UAA sponsors the Journal of Urban Affairs, a refereed journal, that publishes manuscripts related to urban research and policy analysis of interest to both scholars and practitioners. UAA recently launched a new refereed journal, Race, Ethnicity and the City, designed to create a discourse on issues of race, ethnicity, and identity within and around urban spaces. UAA also sponsors Upsilon Sigma –The Urban Studies Honor Society, an international, multidisciplinary honor society dedicated to recognizing and encouraging excellence in scholarship, leadership, and engagement in urban studies and related fields.